Working with Groups

Selecting Users>Groups opens the Groups screen.

The Admin Console allows you to perform the following Group-management functions:



Searching for Groups

To search for Groups:

  1. Select Users>Groups to open the Groups screen.
  1. Enter text in the Search field. This can be all or part of a name, username, location, or Role.
  1. If desired, filter your search to a specific Organization or sub-Organization using the pull-down menu.
  1. Click the Search button.

The Admin Console will display all Groups that match your specified criteria in the table, along with the number of matches.

Note: The Search function matches partial text. For example, entering Pri will match Principals, Primary Teachers, etc.



Viewing/Editing Groups

To find the Group you wish to edit, you may either browse through the table of names in the Groups screen or use the Search function, as described in Searching for Groups. Once you have located the correct Group, you may view or edit that Group’s information by clicking its name in the Name column of the table.


Clicking a Group’s name opens the Update Group screen for that Group with its current information displayed.

In this screen, you may either view the existing information without making any changes, or you may edit some or all of the following:

  • Organization
  • Group Name
  • Group Description

When you are finished, click Update Group to save your changes, close the popup, and return to the Groups screen.



Adding a Group

To add a Group:

  1. Select Users>Groups to open the Groups screen.
  1. Click the Add Group icon (person).

    The New Group screen appears.

  1. Enter the following information:
    • Organization: Use this pull-down menu to select the Organization or sub-Organization within which to add the Group.
    • Group Name: Name of the Group.
    • Group Description: Enter a brief description of the Group.
  1. Click Add Group to finish adding the new user.

The new Group will appear in the table in the Groups screen.



Viewing/Excluding Group Members

To view or remove the user(s) assigned to a Group, click the View members link for the desired Group to open the Group Members popup.

This popup contains the following information and functions:

  • Search: You can search for users by entering some or all of their name in the Search field and then clicking the Search button.
  • Name: Name of the user.
  • Username: Username for that user.
  • Location: Organization to which the user belongs.
  • Role(s): Role(s) assigned to the user.
  • Exclude: Clicking this button removes the selected user from the current Group.

Click the Close button to close the popup and return to the Groups screen when you have finished.



Assigning a Group Administrator

To find the Group for which you wish to assign an Administrator, you may either browse through the table of names in the Groups screen or use the Search function, as described in Searching for Groups. Once you have located the correct Group, you may add or edit the Administrator for that Group by clicking the assign administrator link (if no Administrator has been assigned) or the name of the current Administrator (if an Administrator has been assigned).


Clicking one of these links name opens the Choose User screen for that Group with the current administrator (if any) displayed.


  1. If needed, search for the user to assign using the Search field and/or Organization pull-down menu.
  1. Check the box next to the user you wish to assign as the Group Administrator.
  1. Click OK to confirm the assignment.



Deleting Groups

To delete one or more Group(s) from SchoolMessenger Passport:

  1. Select Users>Groups to open the Groups screen.
  1. Check the checkbox(es) that correspond to the Group(s) that you want to delete.
  1. Click the Delete icon (X).

    The Confirm popup appears.
  1. Click OK to close the popup and return to the Groups screen.

The selected Group(s) will be deleted from SchoolMessenger Passport.


CAUTION: DELETING A GROUP OR GROUPS WILL PERMANENTLY REMOVE THAT GROUP FROM SCHOOLMESSENGER PASSPORT. THIS ACTION CANNOT BE UNDONE; IF YOU DELETE A GROUP IN ERROR, THEN YOU WILL NEED TO REENTER ALL OF THAT GROUP’S INFORMATION AND ASSIGN USERS/RESOURCES FROM SCRATCH.